10 Goa Cong MLAs join BJP, swearing-in of ministers today

NEW DELHI, JUL 11 (AGENCIES) | Publish Date: 7/11/2019 11:20:20 AM IST

Ten Goa Congress MLAs, who shifted allegiance to BJP on Wednesday night, joined the party here on Thursday ahead of induction of some of them in the state Cabinet.

They joined BJP in the presence of its BJP national working president J.P. Nadda and Goa chief minister Pramod Sawant here in Delhi on Thursday.

According to sources, the MLAs will return to Goa on Friday morning as the swearing-in ceremony of new ministers will take place on Friday.

With this the BJP strength from 17 has gone up to to 27 in the Legislative Assembly.

On Wednesday, Sawant arrived Delhi along with 10 MLAs to meet Shah to discuss strategy and further political developments.

With 10 MLAs changing the sides, the strength of Congress on the floor of the House was reduced to mere five.

These MLAs include -- Kavlekar, Isidore Fernandes, Francis Silveira, Filipe Neri Rodrigues, Jennifer, Atanasio Monserrate, Antonio Fernandes, Nilakanth Halarnkar, Clafacio Dias and Wilfred D’Sa.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus