51 LS seats to go to polls today

NEW DELHI, MAY 5 (AGENCIES) | Publish Date: 5/5/2019 11:26:22 AM IST

The fifth phase of polling in 14 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh on Monday will see a clash of titans including Union ministers Rajnath Singh and Smriti Irani, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi.

Elaborate arrangements have been made for peaceful conduct of fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections on Monday in 51 constituencies spread across seven states. 

Voting will take place for 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh; 12 in Rajasthan; seven each in Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal; five in Bihar and four in Jharkhand.

In Jammu and Kashmir, polling will take place in Ladakh and Pulwama and Shopian districts of Anantnag constituencies.

All eyes are on Uttar Pradesh as key contestants include-- BJP leader and Union Home minister Rajnath Singh, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, BJP leader and union minister Smriti Zubin Irani, Congress leader and UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress leader Jitin Prasada and SP’s Poonam Sinha, wife of Shatrughan Sinha. SP-BSP- RLD Alliance has not fielded its candidates in Amethi and Raebareli (seats of Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi).

Election Commission has set up 94,000 polling stations/booths and made elaborate security arrangements. In the fifth and smallest phase, total 8.75 crore voters will decide the fate of 674 candidates. With this phase, election will be over in 424 seats and polling in the remaining 118 seats will be held on May 12 and 19.


-Tags:#LS seats

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus