58 Shamator-Chessore by-poll: Keoshu elected unopposed

58 Shamator-Chessore by-poll: Keoshu elected unopposed
(C) Keoshu Yimchunger receiving the certificate from the RO. (DIPR)
DIMAPUR, OCT 13 (NPN) | Publish Date: 10/13/2021 12:47:00 PM IST

United Democratic Alliance consensus candidate and NDPP nominee, S. Keoshu Yimchunger was declared elected unopposed to the Nagaland Assembly for the by-election to the 58-Shamator-Chessore constituency on Wednesday.

Chief Electoral Officer Nagaland, V. Shashank Shekhar said that Keoshu was the only candidate to file nomination for the by-poll which was scheduled for October 30 and was therefore, declared elected uncontested on Wednesday, the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

ADC and returning officer, B. Henok Buchem handed over the election certificate to Keoshu at his office. The by-poll necessitated to fill the vacancy caused after the demise of Toshi Wungtung.

With Keoshu being elected to the 13th NLA, as the 60th member, the tally of NDPP rose to 21 while NPF has 25 seats, BJP-12 and two independents.

Meanwhile, NDPP leader and Nagaland chief minister, Neiphiu Rio took to twitter to congratulate S. Keoshu Yimchunger and wished him a successful tenure. “Thanks to the alliance partners, people of the constituency and all well-wishers,” Rio tweeted.

Deputy CM  Y. Patton also took to twitter to congratulate UDA consensus candidate S. Keoshu Yimchunger.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus