6 Meghalaya legislators form UPF

Correspondent Shillong, Aug 5 | Publish Date: 8/5/2019 11:47:20 AM IST

Six Meghalaya legislators including four from the People’s Democratic Front (PDF), one Nationalist Congress Party and an Independent on Monday floated a new alliance called United Progressive Front (UPF). 

All the four legislators are part of the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) led by the National People’s Party. 

The PDF has four MLAs including two ministers – Hamletson Dohling, Banteidor Lyngdoh, Gavin Mylliem and Jason S. Mawlong. Lone NCP legislator, Saleng A. Sangma and Independent legislator Lambor Malngiang are also part of the newly formed sub-alliance (UPF).

Sangma and Malangiang had formed the Meghalaya United Forum (MUF), but no other legislators joined them. Sangma said that after the formation of the UPF, the Meghalaya United Forum formed by him and Lambor has ceased to exist. “We formed this new alliance together with an objective to work together within the government and raise issues concerning the state so that a louder voice could be raised and heard. We welcome other MLAs too to be part of this sub-alliance,” Sangma said.

The NPP alone has 21 MLAs in the MDA government. The BJP having two MLAs also supported the MDA government. The opposition Congress has 19 members while lone MLA of the KHNAM, Adelbert Nongrum did not side either with the government or Opposition.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus