6 panchayat candidates win by coin toss in Assam

SILCHAR, Dec 14 (Agencies) | Publish Date: 12/14/2018 11:32:32 AM IST

At least six candidates contesting the panchayat election in Barak Valley won by means of toss after they were tied with other candidates on the number of votes they secured.

According to TNN, Independent candidate Rajana Begum and Congress candidate Idarjaan Borbhuiyan of Swadhin Bazar gram panchayat member seat No 4 in Sonai constituency, Cachar district, secured 125 votes each. The winner was thus decided by the toss of a coin on Thursday. A senior election official said it was decided to select the winner by the toss of a coin as there was a tie between two candidates. Idarjaan Barbhuiyan of Congress was declared the winner.

Five other candidates - one anchalik panchayat candidate under Lalamukh gram panchayat, three gram panchayat members under Nischintapur and one under Panchgram in Hailakandi - also emerged winners through tossing of coins. An election official informed that Jawaharlal Agrohai and Sanjib Narayan Dusad, both Independents, were tied for the No 3 Lalamukh gram panchayat seat. Dusad emerged as the winner.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus