7 Assembly unit NPF presidents resign

DIMAPUR, MAY 3 (NPN) | Publish Date: 5/3/2019 10:35:42 AM IST

In a major setback to Naga People’s Front (NPF), seven of its Assembly constituency presidents have “unanimously” announced their resignation from the party to join Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP). Apparently, the suspension of seven MLAs recently by the party high command has served as an immediate provocation for them to put in their papers.

The seven presidents who announced their resignation are Wangnok (45 A/c), Y Tingtong (46 A/c), Wangka (47 A/c), EY Pongtau (48 A/c), Nyiami Phom (49 A/c), Yanchu Chang (53 A/c) and Wangto Chang (54 A/c). In a press note, presidents of the seven Assembly constituencies alleged that the NPF leadership had become dictatorial and that views and opinions of the masses have been neglected by the party high command. From being a party with highest regards for the grassroots workers, they said NPF has given up regional ideology and betrayed people’s trust. They cited the suspension of the seven MLAs “against all norms” as a clear case of high command rule and disconnect with the masses. 

Claiming that the seven suspended MLAs had supported and upheld the regional spirit, they said the remaining NPF MLAs and all party leaders had openly campaigned for and voted for the national party. Ironically, the seven MLAs who supported the regional principle were suspended and even their disqualification from the Assembly was being sought now, they regretted. 

The seven Assembly constituency presidents also referred to NPF’s hypocrisy by pointing out the party had been partners with BJP since decades and continue to partner the party in Manipur, yet only in Nagaland it terms BJP as “communal party”. They said it was only when the State’s electorate put NPF in opposition that it termed BJP as communal. 

They claimed that, as NPF leaders at the grassroots level, they were never informed that BJP was communal all these years, but now suddenly the communal issue surfaced and “our leaders have been suspended”. They expressed surprised that NPF leaders had voted for Congress all these years. While the suspended MLAs stood for regional spirit, NPF’s top leadership gave up regionalism and sacrificed the party’s ideology, they added. 

In view of the above factors, they explained that they had no option but to resign from the party and join NDPP under the leadership of its president Chingwang and chief minister Neiphiu Rio in order to remain with the ideology and principle of regionalism.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus