7 more NPF leaders quit party

DIMAPUR, MAY 7 (NPN) | Publish Date: 5/7/2019 11:37:13 AM IST

In a further setback to the opposition party, seven more central office bearers of the Naga People’s Front (NPF) announced their resignation from the party on Tuesday. The members sent their resignations to party president Dr Shurhozelie Liezietsu through two separate letters.

In their letter to Liezietsu, NPF central office bearer (COB) general secretary B Bangtick Phom, NPF (COB) secretary Bongshin Yanlem and CEC member from 49 Tamlu Assembly constituency B Athy said they decided to resign from primary and active party membership and their respective party posts in protest against the suspension order served to sitting MLA, BS Nganlang, which they termed as unjust.  The three clarified that the seven suspended MLAs and their supporters decided to support the NDPP candidate in the absence of an official NPF candidate in the recently-concluded Lok Sabha election. They asserted that NPF office had no moral right to suspend the seven NPF MLAs as rest of the opposition MLAs voted in favour of the Congress candidate. 

Meanwhile, in a separate letter to Liezietsu, NPF central general secretary Akang, secretary central Nokshom Konyak, NPF central youth wing vice-president Honpha Konyak and NPF central youth wing general secretary Kapwang Konyak also announced their resignation from active and primary membership of the party. They also informed the NPF president that they are joining Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party under the leadership of president Chingwang Konyak and chief minister Neiphiu Rio.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus