Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Sports » Sports News

Windies crowned World T20 Champs

Colombo (Sri Lanka), Oct 7 (Agencies)
Published on 7 Oct. 2012 11:45 PM IST
Print  Text Size

West Indies outclassed hosts Sri Lanka by 36 runs in a low-scoring finale to lift the 2012 World Twenty20 title at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Sunday.

Chasing a fighting 138-run target, Sri Lanka were bundled out for 101 runs in 18.4 overs. West Indies bowlers were on a roll as they dented Sri Lankan chase by removing seven batsmen within 70 runs in 15 overs in the final clash of the World T20.

Chasing 138, Sri Lanka lost Tillakaratne Dilshan, for a duck, in the second over. Though Jayawardene and Sangakkara steadied the innings with a brisk stand, West Indies fought back to derail hosts’ chase with quick wickets.

Samuel Badree gave West Indies crucial breakthrough by dismissing Kumar Sangakkara after 42-run stand for the second wicket. Rampaul bowled out Dilshan after West Indies fought their way to 137/6 in 20 overs.

Sri Lanka’s unorthodox spinner Ajantha Mendis grabbed four wickets for 12 runs to restrict the West Indies to a modest total.

A sell-out crowd of 35,000 at the Premadasa stadium cheered every dismissal as the West Indies, electing to bat, fell apart once Chris Gayle was removed in the sixth over for only three runs.

Marlon Samuels was the only batsman to defy the spot-on Sri Lankan bowling, making 78 off 56 balls with the help of six sixes and three boundaries. His brilliant strokeplay helped the West Indies add 105 runs in the last 10 overs after they were reduced to 32-2 from the first 10.

Sri Lanka took an early grip on the match by keeping the West Indies down to 14-2 in the first six powerplay overs after Johnson Charles had been dismissed off the fifth ball of the match.

The West Indies had to wait till the 19th delivery to score their first run with the bat and Gayle needed nine balls to get off the mark. The left-hander struggled for 16 deliveries to make three before he was trapped leg-before by Mendis in the sixth over.

It was not till the 12th over that the West Indies showed the first signs of aggression as Dwayne Bravo pulled 19-year-old spinner Akila Dananjaya for a six over mid-wicket.

Samuels responded by smashing three sixes in the next over of sling-arm fast bowler Lasith Malinga, two of them in succession over mid-wicket and extra-cover.

Bravo helped Samuels add 59 runs for the third wicket when he was given out leg-before by Australian umpire Simon Taufel, even though replays showed the ball go off the bat on to the pad.

Mendis then dismissed the dangerous Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell off successive deliveries in the 16th over, but West Indies captain Darren Sammy denied the spinner a hat-trick.

The 17th over, bowled by Malinga, produced 19 runs as Samuels smashed a boundary and two consecutive sixes to leave the frontline bowler with unflattering figures of 0-54 from his four overs. Samuels’ innings ended in the 18th over when he was caught in the deep off Dananjaya.

Meanwhile, England failed in their bid to regain the Women's World Twenty20 title, losing by four runs to Australia.
Chasing 143, England slipped to 63-4 but still had hope with 16 required from the final over in Colombo.

Despite Erin Osborne bowling a no-ball and Jess Jonassen dropping Holly Colvin, England fell short on 138-9.
Earlier an opening stand of 51 between Meg Lanning and Alyssa Healy was built on by 45 from Jess Cameron as the Aussies posted 142-4.

In successfully defending the crown they won in 2010, Australia inflicted only a second defeat in 26 T20 internationals on Edwards' England side.

That run had seen England beat the Southern Stars by seven wickets in the group stages, chasing down 145 with nearly two overs to spare in Galle.

However, on a slower Colombo pitch, England were unable to match the high-quality strokeplay displayed by Lanning, Healy and Cameron, with the regular fall of wickets sucking any momentum out of their reply.

First, after Edwards won the toss and elected to field, Lanning and Healy dished out some brutal treatment to pace bowler Katherine Brunt.

Then, as England set about their run chase, they were pegged back by some disciplined Australian bowling.
After Laura Marsh fell, much rested on the shoulders of Edwards and Sarah Taylor, the leading runscorer and number-one rated batters in T20 internationals respectively, and they added 24 in even time.

With Gunn launching a straight six, Colvin and Danielle Hazell still had the chance to pull off the most dramatic of wins from the final over.

Hopes were raised when Osborne's full toss was called a no-ball, and Jonassen then dropping Colvin from the next ball. However, when the Sussex spinner was run out, England needed six from the final ball of the match.

Hazell was unable to clear the ropes, leaving Australia as the first side to win two women's World T20 titles and the first to retain the trophy.

Theirs was a victory based on the top-order brilliance of Lanning, Healy and Cameron, whose assault on the England bowling capitalised on Edwards' decision to bowl first.

After Healy and Lanning attacked the new ball, Cameron mixed power with creativity to ensure England's spinners were unable to replicate the success they had throughout the tournament.

Left-armer Colvin did impress, however, and after she had Cameron caught on the straight boundary for her second wicket, England were able to rein Australia in. Only 23 came from the final four overs, but the damage had already been done.

For more updates, follow us on Facebook and Twitter
Tags :
Related News
Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2