Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » State » State News

Students urged to conserve energy

KOHIMA, NOV 9 (NPN)(Correspondent)
Published on 9 Nov. 2012 11:48 PM IST
Print  Text Size

State level painting competition on energy conservation was held at Kohima War cemetery organized by north eastern electric power corporation limited (NEEPCO) under the aegis of bureau of energy efficiency ministry of power government of India for students of class of 4, 5 & 6 from all over the state on Friday.

Toshi Aier, addl. chief secretary & finance commissioner (ACS&FC) addressing as the chief guest said global warming has become a global issue where everyone should seriously ponder while pointing out that human population increases but the case was not so with natural resources and so appealed to conserve energy as it would be the only way to save the planet earth.

Stating that conserving energy and its campaign should be a social responsibility especially by the younger generations, Aier said contribution by everyone no matter how, would make a great impact.

Aier advised students to spread awareness on global warming and energy conservation to their family, class and neighbours.

He also suggested the organizers to conduct the programme with more participants including students from government schools for better awareness among the general public.  50 competitors participated at the  school level competition from all districts of the state.

The first and second prize of Rs. 10,000 and Rs. 8,000 were bagged by Kethoseno Meyase and Imlibemba both from Northfield school Kohima while the third prize of Rs. 5,000 was bagged by Asami Kumawat of St. Mary Montessori high school Dimapur.

The 10 consolation prize winners who received Rs. 1,000 each are Rohit Jain Delhi Public school Dimapur, Himesh Sharma from KV CRPF camp Kohima, Sotarupa Saha of Pranab Vidyapith Dimapur, Sanjita Laishram of Livingstone foundation HSS Dimapur, Aishany Army Public School Dimapur, Sentina Fernwood Kohima, Purlemba of Children School Mokokchung, Lhiweü of Pilgrim School Dimapur, Ranjani Kumara of SD Jain HSS Dimapur and Kaina Dutta of Livingstone foundation HSS Dimapur.

All participants were given certificate of participation by Lanu Toy, Rtd. Chief Engineer (P) while the winners received their award from the chief guest.

The three best winners would be representing the state in the national level competition to be held at New Delhi on December 12.

At the national level, the first prize would be Rs. 1,00,000, second Rs.50,000 each (4 nos), third Rs. 25,000 each (8 nos.) and consolation 10 nos. of Rs. 10,000 each and 10nos. of BEE prizes of Rs. 10,000 each.

For more updates, follow us on Facebook and Twitter
Tags :
Related News
Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2