Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » State » State News

Imlibenla crowned Miss Nagaland 2012

KOHIMA DEC 6 (NPN)(Correspondent)
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 12:21 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Imlibenla Jamir, the 17-year old beauty was crowned Miss Nagaland, 2012 edging out other 18 contenders at an event held at State Academy Hall, Thursday on the penultimate day of the annual Hornbill festival. Dovine Venuh and Semersungla bagged the first and the second runners-up titles respectively.

Miss Nagaland 2012 witnessed a captivating blend of beauty and brains as 19 contestants from across the state. The event, organized annually by the Beauty and Aesthetic Society of Nagaland (BASN) and sponsored by the state government, has earned its stature as the main attraction of the seven days Hornbill festival.

Imlibenla’s exuded confidence when the panel threw questions during the penultimate round. On being asked what qualities should a beauty queen possess, Imlibenla replied that one should be optimistic, posses good character and beautiful inside and out.

After lifting the coveted title of Miss Nagaland, Imlibenla thanked Almighty God and dedicated her crown for His glory. She also walked away with a cash of Rs.1,00,000 along with gift hampers while the first runners- up received a cash of Rs. 70,000 and second runners-up received Rs. 50,000 along with gift hampers.

Sub-title winners included Miss Photogenic- Kenei Rakho; Miss Perfect-10 and Eastern Mirror Reader’s Choice award- Imlibenla Jamir;  Mary Kay Miss Beautiful Skin- Semersungla and Miss Congeniality- Marlyne K. Zhimomi.

The event comprised of three rounds- modern ethnic wear, designer wear and formalwear groups. In the first round, the contestants showcased the beautiful, vibrant and colorful costumes of various Naga tribes. In the designer wear round, the contestants sashayed down the stage in outfits designed by Esther Y Sumi.

The show also featured songs and dance by various  groups. The judges for the contest included, Asu Keyho, Sarah Ritse, Denyong, Nunshimenla Therieh and Ayieno Kechu.

For more updates, follow us on Facebook and Twitter
Tags :
Related News
Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2