Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
No trust motion against KMC chairman, deputy
KOHIMA, (Correspondent):
Published on 26 Aug. 2008 12:47 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Eleven Kohima Municipal Council (KMC) members have moved a no confidence motion against KMC chairperson Menuovilie and deputy chairperson Thejangulie Theunuo. The motion was signed by nine NPF members and one each from BJP and Congress. The eleven members including Vipopal Kintso, Khriehu Liezietsu, Keduolhoulie Houzha, Neilaselie Kire, Sakhol Tsukru, Vilar Rutsa, Neiphrelie Rutsa, Neivor Rutsa and Kevikhrietuo Mepfu-o (NPF councilors), Neitsu Kuotsu (Congress) and Vizopal Chaya (BJP), in a letter addressed to DC Kohima, stated that the incumbent chairperson and deputy chairperson no longer enjoyed the confidence of the majority of the elected members of KMC. Calling for a change of guard, the members urged the DC to take necessary action as prescribed in Section 15 of the Nagaland Municipal Act, 2001. It may be noted that KMC has nineteen elected members.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News