Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Election to KMC’s top posts
Correspondent Kohima, SEPT 16 (NPN):
Published on 17 Sep. 2008 1:23 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Following resignations of the Kohima Municipal Council (KMC) chairperson and deputy chairperson on September 4 without facing the trail of strength against their leadership, DC Kohima, Sachopra Vero has convened a meeting on September 19 at 11:00 a.m at the KMC hall to elect new chairperson and deputy chairperson. DC, Kohima in a communiqué informed all the elected and ex-officio members of the KMC to attend the meeting positively. As per an earlier notification issued by DC Kohima, the ADC (Administration) and Executive Officer, Kohima is looking after the day-to-day work of KMC office till new chairperson and deputy chairperson is elected. Eleven councilors on September 5 submitted a letter to the DC, Kohima, to unanimously appoint Vipopal Kintso as the chairperson and Khriehu Liezietsu as the deputy chairperson of KMC. It may be mentioned that there are 19 elected councilors in KMC and six ex-offico members, who have the voting rights, totaling to 25. However, due to sudden demise of KMC Councilor Keduosanyu, the elected councilors have been reduced to18. The ex-officio- members include NPF president and urban development & higher education minister, Dr. Shurhozelie; NLA Speaker, Kiyanilie Peseyie; MLAs Er. Vikho, Dr. Nicky Kire and Lok Sabha MP W. Wangyuh Konyak and Rajya Sabha MP, H. Khekiho Zhimomi. It may be recalled that 11 KMC councilors moved a no-confidence motion against the chairperson and deputy chairperson on August 25 last claiming that the latter two no longer enjoyed the support of the majority.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2