Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
New KMC chairman, deputy elected
Correspondent KOHIMA, SEPT 23 (NPN):
Published on 24 Sep. 2008 12:52 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Vipopal Kintso and Khriehu Liezietsu, both of the NPF party, were elected unopposed as the new chairperson and deputy chairperson respectively of the Kohima Municipal Council (KMC) on Tuesday. They were declared elected by DC Kohima Sachopra Vero, who chaired a special meeting here in the KMC conference hall for electing the chairperson and deputy chairperson. Earlier, the name of Vipopal for the post of chairman was proposed by Vizopal Chaya (BJP) and seconded by Neitsu Kuotsu (Congress), while Khriehu’s name was proposed by Vipopal and seconded by Keduolhoulie Houzha (NPF). All twelve KMC members including Vipopal Kintso, Khriehu Liezietsu, Keduolhoulie Houzha, Neilaselie Kire, Sakhol Tsukru, Vilar Rutsa, Neiphrelie Rutsa, Neivor Rutsa and Kevikhrietuo Mepfu-o and Vithanyii Yano (NPF) and Neitsu Kuotsu (Congress) and Vizopal Chaya (BJP) who attended the meeting voted in favour of the new chairperson and deputy chairperson by “raising the hands.” The remaining six members and another six ex-officio members of KMC did not attend the meeting. It may be mentioned former KMC chairman Menuovilie Kesiezie and deputy chairperson Thejangulie were “voted out of their chairs” during the “non- confidence motion” held on Monday last. Meanwhile, the new KMC chairman in his address solicited cooperation and support from all members for development and welfare of KMC and the state capital. He also thanked all his colleagues for electing him as the new chairman and also acknowledged the contribution of the outgoing chairperson and deputy chairperson.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News