Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Dhoni wins ODI player of the year
Dubai, Sept 10 (Agencies):
Published on 11 Sep. 2008 12:45 AM IST
Print  Text Size

India's MS Dhoni won ICC ODI Player of the Year award whereas Yuvraj Singh won the ICC award for best performance in Twenty20 World Cup for his outstanding performance in the shorter version of the game. Sri Lanka's Ajantha Mendis piped Ishant Sharma of India to win the ICC Emerging Player of the Year award at the LG ICC Awards in Dubai. The mystery tweaker has exploded on to the international scene and taken the world by storm with his mesmerising brand of spin bowling. His team won the ICC award for the Spirit of Cricket. The Associate Player of the Year for 2008 went to Netherlands all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate. Sri Lankan team also won the ICC 'Spirt of Cricket' award for second year in row. Australia's Simon Taufel won the ICC Umpire of the Year award for fifth year in the row. India's Sachin Tendulkar and Mahendra Singh Dhoni were also included in the 12-man ICC World ODI Team of the Year with Australian Ricky Ponting as captain. Virender Sehwag the only Indian included in the 12-man ICC World Test Team of the Year 2008. West Indian Shivnarine Chanderpaul won Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year 2008 Award.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2