Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Inter college debate competition held

Commissioner and Secretary, Higher Education, F. Pelevituo Solo delivering his speech during the 3rd Inter College Debate Competition held at Sazolie College, Jotsoma. Also seen in the picture are the participants of the debate competition. (NP)
Correspondent, KOHIMA, Oct 4:
Published on 5 Oct. 2008 1:38 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Inter college debate on the theme 'Naga national movement is not a socio-economic problem' was held Saturday at Sazolie College, Jotsoma. Twenty-two students from 11 colleges participated. Hamdok M. Konyak from Kohima Science College emerged as the winner of the competition, while Kaphunfin Duanthulung from Sakus Christian College and Nyitso Therie from National Academy of Higher Education bagged the second and third positions respectively besides six other participants who bagged consolation prizes. Commissioner and Secretary, Higher Education, F. Pelevituo Solo, who was the chief guest, stated that debates were a foundation of civilized society. He said that before taking any decision, one needs to deliberate on the issue thoroughly to avoid mistakes. Urging to promote the spirit of debate within the society and government, chief guest said it would lead to efficiency and general quality of life. Solo further stated that private institutions have played a major role in promotion of higher education in the country, though they are given meager aids for their infrastructure. He urged institutions to avail schemes from the UGC to develop their infrastructure and provide quality higher education to the students. Sazolie College Principal opined that debate competition was to not only to build up students but also to articulate youths who could express their ideas persuasively. He said that the success of such programmes depended on the cooperation of each individual. The critic for the debate competition was Neiketu Iralu, a Trustee of Initiative of Change; while the judges were Keviletuo Kiewhuo, President Naga Hoho; Neingulo Krome, former general secretary, NPMHR; and Professor A. Lanu Ao, Department of Sociology, Nagaland University. Cash prizes and certificates were sponsored by Axis bank and the Department of Youth Resources and Sports.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2