Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Ronaldo, Torres up for FIFA award
Paris, Dec 12 (Agencies):
Published on 13 Dec. 2008 12:58 AM IST
Print  Text Size

European player of the year Cristiano Ronaldo Ronaldo and Liverpool striker Fernando Torres have been shortlisted for the Fifa World Player of the Year award. United and Portugal winger Ronaldo, 23, scored 42 goals for his club last season and collected the European Player of the Year award on Sunday. Torres scored 33 goals in his debut season for Liverpool and the winner for Spain in the final of Euro 2008. The male nominees are Kaka (Brazil), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Fernando Torres (Spain), and Xavi (Spain). Nadine Angerer (Germany), Cristiane (Brazil), Marta (Brazil), Birgit Prinz (Germany) and Kelly Smith (England) will contest the women’s award. This year heralds an increased field of contenders, moving up to five from the three of previous years. All the nominees were confirmed after a poll in which the coaches and captains of men’s and women’s national teams from around the world cast their votes on the basis of a list of men’s and women’s candidates drawn up by FIFA. In addition, the customary FIFA Presidential Award and the FIFA Fair Play Award will be presented. AC Milan striker Kaka won the award last year, adding the accolade to his European Footballer of the Year honour. Ronaldo recently picked up the prestigious Ballon d’Or for the European Footballer of the Year.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2