Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
LTM platinum jubilee concludes
Correspondent CHUCHUYIMLANG:
Published on 31 Dec. 2008 11:18 PM IST
Print  Text Size

The platinum jubilee celebration of Langpangkong Tzukong Mungdang (LTM) culminated on December 30 with MLA Sentichuba gracing the function as guest of honour. Addressing the closing function, Sentichuba narrated the history of Langpangkong and the difficult times the people experienced initially that even hindered the unity of the range people. He pointed out some failures of LTM down its existence and urged the Langpangkong people to give due recognition to all the contributors that helped in the development of the range and also keep the same in record. The MLA expressed regret that candidates employ underground activists during elections that was detrimental to the unity of its people and development of the area. Chief Conservator of Forest, I. Panger Jamir IFS who also spoke in the function exhorted the gathering by interlacing the past, present and future life of the Langpankong people. He pointed out that when the people in thee range gave importance to "petty politics" development of the area has been neglected to a large extent and highlighted that if the Langpangkong people were united, the present day Tuli could have been the second Dimapur. Panger advised the gathering to review the setbacks of LTM and strive to work with unity for the development of the range. Others who spoke in the function included Temjensangla, EAC Chuchuyimlang Town and A. Chubanungba, one of the senior most citizens of Chuchuyimlang Town.The concluding function also saw presentation of cultural song by Longkong village council members, special song by jubilee choir and presentation of various rports including finance, nomination, resolution and jubilee planning committees. During the programme, new office bearers for the tenure 2009 to 2011 were also elected with T. Nukshi Yaden from Merangkong as the president, Samatoshi from Yaongyimsen as the vice president, Takosashi from Chuchuyimlang as the general secretary, Lepden Jamir from Longkong as the assistant general secretary, Tulutoshi from Mongsenyimti as the finance secretary and Supongmatong of Chuchuyimlang was re-elected as the treasurer.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News