Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
NPF Dmu welcomes Azheto
Staff Reporter DIMAPUR:
Published on 21 Feb. 2009 12:04 AM IST
Print  Text Size

NPF Dimapur division in a meeting held Friday at divisional office welcomed former MLA Azheto Zhimomi in the presence of NPF party workers both from central office and Dimapur division. Speaking on the occasion former MLA 3-Dimapur III A/C, Azheto Zhimomi said he was fortunate to have made the decision, at the right time, though everyone might not agree by his decision. “Defecting from one political party to another may not be so ethically wrong as compared to being ineffective, coward and indifferent to the needs of the people,” Azheto said. Defending his decision to resign and join the NPF, Azheto said his resignation arrived after the maturity and versatility shown by chief minister, Neiphiu Rio and NPF president, Dr. Shürhozelie. He pointed out that NPF party under their leadership has grown from strength to strength. He added that it was not by plight of being in the opposition that prompted him to resign from the legislative assembly but it was rather in the interest of the people of his constituency. Azheto also expressed gratitude to DAN leadership for showing “genuine” concern for the people of Dimapur and welcoming him back to its fold, and asserted that he can be an asset to both the party leadership and the people of the constituency. Others who spoke on the occasion included president Dimapur III A/C, Shevotso Keyho, former president ACCC Dimapur III, Vihoshe; NPF Dimapur division advisor, Roben Lotha; DMC chairperson, Khekaho Assumi; CTC chairperson, Neichiiu Kuotsu, former MLA, Atomi; women wing president, Ketie Pfukha; NPF Nagaland vice president, Lepshi Ao and state NPF youth wing legal cell secretary, Thepfuchie. The meeting was chaired by Dimapur division vice president, M. Khate while DMC member, V. Nyekha delivered welcome address. Earlier invocation was pronounced by NPF Dimapur division advisor, Pfuchio Kikon and vote of thanks by NPF Dimapur division president, K.Shilu Sangtam.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News