Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
2 Cong MLAs resign from Assembly
Correspondent Kohima/Dimapur, Feb 13 (NPN):
Published on 14 Feb. 2009 12:34 AM IST
Print  Text Size

In a major setback to the opposition Congress in the state ahead of the forthcoming Lok Sabha election, two party MLAs — Aloh and Kejong Chang — have resigned from the Eleventh Nagaland Legislative Assembly on Friday. Aloh was elected from 41st Tizit Assembly constituency and Kejong Chang won from 54th Tuensang Sadar-11 Assembly constituency on Congress tickets in the last Assembly election. When contacted Nagaland Legislative Assembly Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie confirmed their resignations and said he had already accepted their resignations. Consequent upon their resignations, the Speaker declared the two Assembly seats vacant. Both the MLAs could not be contacted. With the resignation of the two MLAs, the effective strength of Nagaland Legislative Assembly has gone down to 58 in the house of 60 members. The NPF is the single largest party in the Assembly with 26 seats, Congress has 21 seats, Independent 7, BJP and NCP two each. Leader of Opposition in the State Assembly Chingwang Konyak, when contacted by Nagaland Post, said he did not have anything to say against those who did not want to serve the people. “I do not think they have any genuine reason to resign,” he said when asked about the reasons behind the resignation of the two MLAs. “Kejong told me that he was not against me or anybody when I asked him what prompted his resignation,” Chingwang said. “Maybe the ruling party has promised to develop their constituencies,” he added. When asked whether the resignation of the two MLAs would affect the prospect of the Congress Party in the state in the coming Lok Sabha election, the leader of Opposition said, “Lok Sabha election is different. UPA is going to come back to power at the Centre. We are for long term gain not for short term gain.” Another senior Congress member said the ruling NPF has followed the Karnataka style where JD(U)and Congress MLAs resigned after joining the BJP government and later fought the by elections.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2