Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Congress clear names for by-polls
Correspondent KOHIMA, MARCH 20 (NPN):
Published on 21 Mar. 2009 2:11 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Opposition Congress party in the state Friday announced the names of the four Congress candidates for the four by-polls scheduled on April 16. The candidates include Y. Vikheho Awomi for 3-Dimapur –III A/C, K. Therie for 17th Chizami A/C, W. Wangyuh Konyak for 41-Tizit A/C and H. Wongto Chang for 54th Tuensang Sadar-II A/C. Announcing the names at a press conference here at Congress Bhavan, NPCC president, KV Pusa appealed electorates of these constituencies to vote for the Congress candidates “in the name of clean politics.” NPCC chief informed that the ticket distribution ceremony for Lok Sabha and four by-polls would be held March 24, 9 a.m. at Congress Bhavan Kohima. He maintained that efforts were on to bring in AICC president Sonia Gandh and AICC general secretary, Rahul Gandhi to campaign for the party candidates in the state. Refuting the statement of state chief minister Neiphiu Rio that Congress party in the state was a habitual liar, Pusa said that it was very unfortunate and unbecoming on the part of Naga leader in the status of chief minister to utter such words. NPCC president demanded that Rio should apologize to the people of Nagaland. CLP Leader Chingwang Konyak addressing the press conference said that Rio’s regime has brought lots of scam in various departments and urged the people to vote for Congress in order to wipe out corruption. Meanwhile, NPMCC president Atsole Wazah in a press statement has also “condemned the irresponsible and immature public statement of NPF and Neiphiu Rio.” Congress mahila president asserted that being the head of the government and political party leader, he should be aware of the Congress party’s responsibility to highlight the “wrongdoing” of NPF led DAN government in the state. NPMCC also held that NPF as major constituent of ruling DAN alliance should be matured enough to accept the constructive criticisms of the opposition party instead of vending out anger and shouting immaturely by calling Congress a habitual liar. AICC panel All India Congress Committee president, Sonia Gandhi has approved Nagaland Pradesh Congress Election Coordination Committee with MP and AICC general secretary, V Narayanasamy as chairman; former chief minister and MLA, KL Chishi as convenor; Sanjay Bapna, KV Pusa, Chingwang Konyak, I Imkong, SI Jamir, Hokheto Sumi, IK Sema, T Sentichuba, H Chuba Chang, Tokheho Yeptho, Shami Angh as members and state chief of frontal wings as ex-officio members. AICC President approves Nagaland Pradesh Congress Election Co-ordination Committee Meanwhile, NPCC president KV Pusa has congratulated KL Chishi on his appointment as Convenor of the NPCECC. He expressed confident that under Chishi’s convenorship, an effective election campaign would be generated throughout the state.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2