Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Cong MLAs threaten to resign over Narah''s candidature
Published on 23 Mar. 2009 12:49 AM IST
Print  Text Size

As many as six MLAs of the Congress in Assam's Lakhimpur Parliamentary constituency have threatened to resign in protest against the party's nominating former MP Ranee Narah for the seat. Ms Narah's candidature was announced in New Delhi late on Friday night after weeks of indecisiveness within the party on selecting the candidate. It was the last constituency in Assam for the Congress to declare the candidate. However, the situation in the constituency worsened with the announcement as a number of MLAs within the Lok Sabha constituency have come out in the open with their objection over Ms Narah's candidature. All the nine Assembly segments within the Parliamentary constituency are represented by the Congress, with Ms Narah's husband Bharat Narah representing Dhakuakhana and also a member of the state Cabinet. However, resentment was strong on Ms Narah's candidature, though she had won the seat twice in 1998 and 1999. ''We had objected to her candidature in 2004 elections also but the party had given her the ticket and she lost to AGP's Dr Arun Sharma. Similar defeat will await the party if Ms Narah contests again,'' Sadiya MLA Bolin Chetia said. He added that the MLAs would come to Guwahati tomorrow to press the party high command to change the candidate, though he refused to name any other possible candidate from among the panel of names that were shortlisted for the constituency. The other MLAs who are against Ms Narah's candidature include Rajib Lochan Pegu (Majuli), Sumitra Patir (Dhemaji), Bhuban Pegu (Jonai), Ghana Buragohain (Lakhimpur) and Durja Bhuij (Doom Dooma).

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2