Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
6 candidates in fray in Arunachal for LS polls
Published on 12 Mar. 2009 12:55 AM IST
Print  Text Size

The battle lines for the April 16 Lok Sabha polls in Arunachal Pradesh has been drawn with six candidates, so far announced by various political parties, are ready to contest for the two seats. While the BJP had already declared the names of sitting MPs Kiren Rijiju (Western) and Tapir Gao (Eastern) as its candidates long back, the Congress after a long wait finally approved the names of Takam Sanjoy as its candidate for Western Seat and Ninong Ering for the Eastern seat. The Arunachal Congress has fielded its president C T Manpoong from the Eastern seat, while Lok Bharati has announced the name of Taba Taku from the West seat. The Arunachal Democratic Alliance (ADA), a conglomeration of various political parties is likely to announce its nominees by March 13. The names of Sanjoy and Ering of the Congress were declared by the AICC central election committee (for the Lok Sabha) in-charge Oscar Fernandes yesterday. Both the constituencies are likely to witness triangular contests. Sanjoy has been a very effective student leader and served as president of the All Nyishi Students Union (ANSU), besides being a founding member of North East Students Organisation (NESO). He was associated with numerous organisations before being elected to the Assembly from Palin constituency in 1995. Sanjoy was re-elected in 1999 and served as Minister of various departments during both tenures.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2