Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
State goes to polls today

Asungba Sangtam (INC), CM Chang (DAN) and Dr. Rilangthung Odyuo (TC)
Correspondent KOHIMA, APR 15 (NPN):
Published on 16 Apr. 2009 5:49 PM IST
Print  Text Size

A total of 13, 21,781 electorates are eligible to exercise their franchise in the election to the lone Lok Sabha seat from Nagaland which goes to polls on Thursday, starting 7.00 am to 4.00 pm. The votes will be counted on May 16. The total electorate comprises of 6, 76, 699 male and 6, 45, 083 female voters. Three candidates are in the fray for the Lok Sabha seat which included CM Chang (NPF), K. Asungba Sangtam (Congress) and Dr. Rilangthung Odyuo, All India Trinamool Congress (AITC). Out of the 1,790 polling stations, 1156 has been classified as normal polling stations, 327 vulnerable polling stations and 307 critical polling stations. Official sources said polling personnel have left their respective polling stations to conduct the polls and hoped the elections would be conducted in a peaceful manner. The Constituency with highest number of voters is 4. Ghaspani-1 A/C- 30325 (M) and 29223 (F), totaling to 59548 and the Constituency with the lowest number of voters is 27.Mokokchung Town A/C- 3074 (M) and 3128 (F) totaling to 6200. Women voters in 14 assembly constituencies had outshined men voters. Of the three candidates, CM Chang (NPF) would be contesting the Lok Sabha polls for the first time and is backed by the ruling DAN alliance, which is at the helm of power in the state. CM Chang unsuccessfully contested on NPF tickets from Noksen in 2004 and 2008. K. Asungba Sangtam (Congress) is in the fray for the fourth consecutive term for the Lok Sabha polls. He fought on Congress ticket in 1998, 1999 and 2004. This time too he is contesting on Congress ticket. Asungba won the seat in 1998 and 1999 and became the Member of Parliament (MP) (1998-1999 and 1999-2004) from Nagaland. Dr. Rilangthung Odyuo also contested the 2004 Lok Sabha seat as Independent but lost the election.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News