Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Hollohon to support Asungba
Staff Reporter DIMAPUR:
Published on 1 Apr. 2009 1:34 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Independent MLA from ACCC 5 Ghaspani II A/C, K. Hollohon along with his supporters has decided to extend its support to Congress candidate, K. Asungba Sangtam in the ensuing Lok Sabha election. This was decided during a joint meeting of the Congress workers and the Independent party workers at Hollohon’s Farm House in Kukidolong on Tuesday. Extending support to the Congress candidate, Asungba, the Independent MLA, Hollohon harped on the advantages of sending an MP to Delhi who belonged to a national party. According to him, a national party MP could fight straight to get things delivered to its people whereas no one would listen to an MP from a regional party and pointed it to the NPF candidate. He also spoke on the moral issue hovering around the NPF-led DAN consensus candidate, CM Chang and said that the people should support someone with an unambiguous moral life. Hollohon also slammed state Chief Minister Rio whom he alleged of buying the four MLAs with public money. Congress MLA and also Convenor Lok Sabha Election Campaign Committee, S. I. Sungit Jamir acknowledged Hollohon, a seven-time MLA for his support to the Congress. Referring to various national poll predictions that the Congress would be winning much more seats than any other single political party, Jamir urged the people to vote for the Congress candidate and march along with the party for all round development. He said people should select someone for the precious lone seat who has the ability to talk with the government about the Nagas He also said that a nationally recognised figure like Asungba would help in expediting the Naga political settlement. Jamir reminded the people of the recent NPSC scam over which the government has so far remained silent and said it was the right time for the people to teach the government a lesson. DCC president, District Mahila Congress President, senior Congress leaders, independent party workers also spoke during the meeting. PCC Secretary, Aheto V. Yeptho chaired the meeting while Nengjalhing Singson pronounced the invocation, S.G Hollo delivered the welcome address and President ACCC 5 Ghaspani II A/C, D. Krose proposed the vote of thanks.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News