Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Police personnel designated poll officials
Published on 3 Apr. 2009 12:26 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Chief Secretary to Government of Nagaland, Lalhuma (IAS) has notified that in pursuance of standing instruction of election commission of India under section 28A of the R.P Act, 1951, Governor of Nagaland has designated all police personnel of the Government of Nagaland including home guards from the level of Director General of Police down to the level of constable as election related officials with immediate effect till the completion of the general election to 15th Lok Sabha from Nagaland parliamentary constituency, 2009 and by-elections to 4 (four) assembly constituencies namely AC No. 3-Dimapur-III; AC No. 17-Chizami; AC No. 41-Tizit and AC No. 54-Tuensang Sadar-II. According to an official bulletin, police officials involved in any way in election related arrangements and perform duties in connection with conduct of election are, by law, officers of election commission, being deemed to be on deputation to it, are subject to its control, superintendence and discipline, and are answerable to the election commission for any acts of commission or omission on their part while performing any election related duties.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2