Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Re-polls on April 20
Published on 18 Apr. 2009 1:46 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Election Commission of India (ECI) has ordered re-poll in three polling stations in the state on April 20 from 7a.m. to 4 p.m. State Chief Electoral Officer (SEO), CJ Ponraj has said that re-poll would be held at polling station no.16 Thechulumi Village ‘B’ Wing under 17 Chizami assembly constituency for assembly by-election and at polling station no. 8 Tuensang Village ‘A’ for both parliamentary and assembly by- elections, CEO media cell said in a release. ECI order of re-poll arrived after Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) were damaged by miscreants in these two polling stations. The release said under ChizamiA/C the miscreant identified as one Daniel was arrested and a case registered, while at Tuensang, case has been registered against the miscreants and Police investigating the case. Re-poll at Polling station 28 Penkim village under 60 Pungro Kiphire AC on was ordered on account of excess polling, it stated. Meanwhile, according to the latest report with Election department 90.21% voter turnout recorded in Nagaland for parliamentary elections while voter turnout percentage of 90.21 was recorded for the Lok Sabha elections. Kiphire district recorded the highest with 97.49% voter turnout while Kohima district recorded the lowest voter turnout at 79.30%. It may be mentioned that Kiphire district recorded the highest percentage in the 2004 Parliamentary elections with 97.97%. Repoll in 7 states The Election Commission today ordered repoll in 46 polling stations spread over seven states from tomorrow. As many as 29 polling stations in Andhra Pradesh, five in Assam, two in Kerala and one in Uttar Pradesh will go for repoll tomorrow, the EC said. One polling station in Jammu and Kashmir will witness repoll on April 19. Five polling stations in Arunachal Pradesh and three in Nagaland will go to polls again on April 20. As many as 124 constituencies spread across 15 states and two union territories went to polls yesterday in the first phase of Lok Sabha elections. It may be mentioned that in the first phase of polling Thursday, election was held in 124 parliamentary constituencies across 15 states and two union territories. (With inputs from PTI) district wise polling (Lok Sabha) Sl.No. Name of district Percentage of voter turn out 1) Dimapur 83.47 2) Peren 91.60 3) Kohima 79.30 4) Pughoboto 93.66 5) Phek 94.12 6) Mokokchung 86.26 7) Zunheboto 93.58 8) Wokha 94.76 9) Mon 93.56 10) Longleng 96.49 11) Tuensang 96 12) Kiphire 97.49 State 90.21 Voter turn out in By-elections 1) 3 Dimapur III 82.88 2) 17 Chizami 91.40 3) 41 Tizit 83.42 4) 54 Tuensang Sadar 83.35

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News