Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Poll for inner Manipur constituency to be held today
Correspondent Imphal, APR 21:
Published on 22 Apr. 2009 12:31 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Manipur is all set for the crucial political fight for the seat from Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency where heavyweight politicians are in the fray which would go on poll today. The entire constituency has been divided into 40 zones on the security point of view and armed security men have been put on duty for any eventuality. Security men at these 40 zones would be assisted by 35 mobile security team and 20 striking forces which will be detained at 20 different locations during the poll hour. More than 12 thousand armed and unarmed personnel of the state police will assist to about 65 companies of the Central Paramilitary forces (CRPF and BSF) in conducting the elections for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency which will go on poll from 7 am till 4 pm. Seven candidates among which former Union minister Th Chaoba of MPP, sitting MP Dr T Meinya of Congress, former chief minister of the state W Nipamacha of BJP and former minister of state Dr M Nara of CPI are the main contenders of the seat. Polling to the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency will be held at 976 polling stations across the three valley districts of Imphal west, Imphal east and Bishnupur and three Assembly Segments in Thoubal district included in the Inner Parliamentary constituency. The fate of the seven candidates will be decided by an expected 8,26,539 voters across 32 Assembly Constituencies. Out of the total 976 polling stations 170 are hypersensitive polling stations, 404 are sensitive while remaining 164 are normal polling stations. A total of 4,850 polling personnel are utilizing for the conduct of the poll. State home department has arranged one platoon each of armed Central Paramilitary Forces in each 170 hypersensitive polling stations with four unarmed personnel of the state security.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2