Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
NPF sweep in four assembly seats
Correspondent Kohima, May 16(NPN):
Published on 17 May. 2009 1:30 AM IST
Print  Text Size

It was a resounding victory for the ruling NPF which won the Lok Sabha seat when it also swept all the four seats in the April 16 by elections. The NPF candidates,who had won the seats as Congress candidates in the 2008 assembly elections, won all the four assembly seats in the April 16 by elections. In 3-Dimapur – III, Azheto Zhimomi (NPF) retained the seat by defeating his only rival Vikheho (Congress) by a margin of 8054 votes. Azheto polled 12427 votes while Vikheho polled 4373 votes. In 17 Chizami assembly constituency, NPF candidate Deo Nukhu also retained the seat defeating former finance minister and Congress candidate K. Therie by 6663 votes. Deo polled 13971 while K. Therie polled 7308 votes. In 41 Tizit A/C, T.Aloh Wangham (NPF) also retained the seat by defeating nearest RJD candidate Paiwang by a margin of 2840 votes. The third candidate and outgoing Lok Sabha MP and Congress nominee W. Wangyuh Konyak polled only 1470 votes. Aloh polled 8749 votes while Paiwang polled 5909 votes. In 54 Tuensang Sadar –II, Kejong Chang retained the seat defeating his only rival Wongto Chang of the Congress by a margin of 5653 votes. Kejong polled 11345 votes while Wongto polled 5692 votes. With four assembly seats added, the strength of the ruling NPF has now risen to 30 in the 60-member house and combined with its alliance partnets- two each from the NCP and BJP and six other Independent members, the tally of the DAN coalition has shot up to 40. The opposition has 20 members that includes 19 Congress and one Independent member.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2