Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
CM Chang, new Lok Sabha MP of Nagaland
Correspondent KOHIMA MAY 16(NPN):
Published on 17 May. 2009 1:31 AM IST
Print  Text Size

In a record breaking win, DAN consensus and Nagaland People’s Front (NPF) candidate won the lone parliamentary seat from the state by defeating his nearest rival Congress candidate Asungba Sangtam by the highest ever recorded margin in the state. DAN consensus and NPF candidate C. M. Chang’s margin was 4, 83,003 lakh (4.83 lakh) beating the previous record of 4.52 lakh in the 2004 Lok Sabha election, when then NPF candidate W.Wangyuh Konyak defeated sitting MP Mr Asungba Sangtam by a margin of 4.5 lakh votes. In the 2009 election, Chang polled 8,32,206 votes,while his Congress rival K. Asungba polled 3,49, 203 votes and the third candidate Dr. Rilanthung Odyuo polled 8174 votes, while 141 votes were rejected. Returning officer and commissioner Nagaland H.K.Khulu formally announced the results Saturday evening and handed out the election certificate to CM Chang in the presence of observer, election officials and media persons. Later addressing media persons, the newly elected MP CM Chang expressed his gratefulness to the people for reposing their faith on the DAN government under the leadership of chief minister Neiphiu Rio and electing him. “We’re happy that the people gave their mandate on the DAN coalition under the leadership of chief minister Neiphiu Rio. The result confirmed that people are happy with the leadership of chief minister Neiphiu Rio”, he stated. He also assured the people of the state that he “will not betray the Nagas” and said that his priority would be on the ongoing Indo-Naga peace talks. On the developmental front, he pointed out that Nagaland been a special category state, it should also be equally provided with facilities which is available in other parts of the country such as Airways and Railways and assured to work for the same. Meanwhile, Abu Metha, Press secretary to Chief minister Neiphiu Rio while commenting on the election of the DAN consensus and NPF candidate CM Chang stated that “the Naga people voted for development and endorsed the Political leadership of Neiphiu Rio and more so good governance.” The opposition Congress when contacted refused to comment on the Lok Sabah polls in Nagaland verdict. The poll percentage in the April 16 Lok Sabha election in the state was 90.22 %. The state has a total of 13, 17,729 lakhs electorates and three candidates- C. M Chang (NPF), K. Asungba Sangtam (Congress) and Dr. Rilangthung Odyuo (AITC) contested the lone seat. Nagaland Lok Sabha Polls Total Votes 13, 21, 878 Total votes cast 11, 89, 583 Rejected votes 141 Votes polled NPF - C. M. Chang 8,32, 206 Congress -K Asungba Sangtam 3, 49, 203 All India Trinamool -Dr. Rilanthung Odyuo 8174 Winning Margin 4, 83,003

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News