Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Meghalaya CM lobbies for ministerial berth in UPA
Correspondent SHILLONG, MAY 17:
Published on 17 May. 2009 11:32 PM IST
Print  Text Size

Meghalaya Chief Minister DD Lapang today dashed-off to the national capital to lobby a ministerial berth for Vincent H Pala, the newly elected Lok Sabha MP from Shillong parliamentary seat. Pala defeated his nearest rival United Democratic Party (UDP) candidate John F Kharshiing by a margin of 1, 07, 868 votes. He polled polled a total of 2, 32, 270 votes against Kharshiing who managed to get 1, 24, 402 votes in a seven cornered contest. “We wish to see him (Pala) in the new Union cabinet and Mr Lapang has left for New Delhi to do that,” Meghalaya Agriculture Minister and Congress Spokesman Prof. RC Laloo said. Echoing Prof Laloo, Meghalaya state Congress Working President Deborah C Marak said Pala should be accomodated in the new ministry, as he have all the qualities. “Pala is qualified person and he should be accomodated in the union cabinet”, Marak said. Meanwhile, Lapang has congratulated Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress President Sonia Gandhi and AICC General Secretary Rahul Gandhi for their success in the present Lok Sabha Election He also congratulated Vincent H. Pala for his landslide victory and has also conveyed his gratefulness to all the voters of Meghalaya for their support. Though the Congress Party have lost the 2-Tura Parliamentary seat narrowly, Lapang congratulated Deborah C Marak for her hard work and commitment. CM allocates portfolios Chief Minister DD Lapang leading the Congress-led Meghalaya United Alliance (MUA) has allocated portfolios to his five newly sworn-in council of ministers. The portfolios, which were distributed yesterday, have been given to four Cabinet members and one Minister of State. The MUA comprised of 37 MLAs -- 26 from Congress, nine from United Democratic Party (UDP), lone Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement MLA Paul Lyngdoh and four Independents of the effective strength of 59 in 60-member House. Important portfolios like Finance, Home, Revenue, Industries and PWD were retained by the party. Chief Minister Lapang retained Cabinet Affairs, Political, Personnel, Home, Planning, Programme Implementation, Industries and all other Departments not allocated to other Ministers and residual matters. Former Assembly Speaker and United Democratic Party (UDP) MLA, Bindo M Lanong, who was elevated to the post of Cabinet minister, was allotted Mining & Geology, Law, Sports & Youth Affairs, Social Welfare, Arts & Culture, Border Trade, and Reorganisation. Another Deputy Chief Minister and senior Congress MLA Dr Mukul M Sangma will take charge of Finance, Power and non-conventional Energy, Health & Family Welfare, Horticulture, Information & Public Relations, Labour, Administrative Reforms and Home (Passport). The departments of Agriculture, Forests & Environment, PWD (Buildings), Soil & Water Conservation, Elections, Sericulture & Weaving has been alloted to Congress spokesman Prof RC Laloo. Another UDP legislator JA Lyngdoh has been given the task to look after Food & Civil Supplies, Irrigation, Secretariat Administration Department (SAD) and Housing. Martin M Danggo, Minister has been alloted Community & Rural Development, Border Areas Development, Parliamentary Affairs and Veterinary & Animal Husbandry, while Prestone Tynsong is being given Public Work Department.(Roads), District Council Affairs, General Administration Department (GAD) and Revenue. Lone KHNAM MLA Paul Lyngdoh got Urban Affairs, Municipal Affairs, Excise, Civil Defence & Home Guards and Home (Jails). A non-legislator, M Ampareen Lyngdoh, who was also inducted in the ministry has been allocated with the Higher and Technical Education, Elementary and Mass Education and Printing and Stationery. Ampareen Lyngdoh, Minister: Elementary & Mass Education, Higher & Technical Education and Printing & Stationery. Of the three Independent MLAs Limison D Sangma who was sworn-in Minister of State was given Independent charge -- Stamps & Registration, besides assisting Deputy Chief Minister Mining & Geology and Minister Sericulture & Weaving. The other two Indepdents - Abu Taher Mondal has been given Taxation, Information and Technology, Fisheries, Science and Technology besides Weights and Measures, while Ismail R Marak was alloted with Transport & Communications.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News