Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
BJP expels 2 legislators
Staff Reporter DIMAPUR, JUN 6 (NPN):
Published on 7 Jun. 2009 1:30 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Newly formed disciplinary action committee of the BJP Nagaland on Saturday expelled two of its former party legislators, M.C Konyak, minister for forest and excise and Y. Patton, parliamentary secretary for irrigation and flood control including those members who merged with the NPF on May 18. The recently reconstituted Nagaland BJP held its first state executive meeting today at its office, Supermarket, Dimapur with P. Chandershekar Rao, North East Zonal general secretary as the chairman and formed the disciplinary action committee. The committee expelled the two former party legislators and others members who merged with the NPF from the BJP primary membership for six years. Briefing media persons at Hotel Saramati, Dimapur, P. Chandershekar Rao demanded that both the legislators should resign and seek fresh mandate from the people as they got elected through BJP ticket and had betrayed the mandate given by the people of their constituencies. He also said that the BJP north east has requested the central command to take disciplinary action against Johnny C. Rengma and has recommended his expulsion from the party. He also announced that the BJP Nagaland was no longer an alliance partner of DAN alliance in the state. Rao said there was no question of a national party merging with regional party and added it should be the other way round.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News