Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Doctors’ Day celebrated in Dimapur
Staff Reporter DIMAPUR:
Published on 2 Jul. 2009 12:35 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Indian Medical Association (IMA), Dimapur branch, celebrated Doctors’ Day at Go-Karting, NH-39, Purana Bazar on Wednesday with Additional Deputy Commissioner, Sedivikho Khro as chief guest. The programme was attended by family members of pioneer doctors’ of Nagaland and doctors from Dimapur. Presidential address of IMA, Dimapur branch was read out by Dr N R Newmai who also delivered the welcome address. The address stated that it was a special day for the doctors remembering their humanitarian service, dedication and sacrifice. While paying rich tributes to their predecessors he reminded their family members that they were not forgotten. Admitting the fact that it was not possible to practice their trade in isolation he urged the doctors to keep up with the pace of rapid development so that better health care can be delivered to the people. The presidential address also highlighted the various social activities taken out by the IMA. Speaking on the occasion, chief guest ADC Dimapur, urged the doctors’ by stating that the quality of health cannot be compromised. He also brought out the point about the impact of machines in the heath care and admitted that he cannot allow himself to be examined by a machine but by a doctor. The chief guest pointed out that a balanced human being was important and the doctors were the one responsible for it. Later the chief guest released the first annual magazine of IMA, Dimapur Branch. It may be mentioned that Dr Z Mozhui was the editor of the magazine while his wife was the chairperson for the evening programme. Meanwhile several doctors’ namely DR L M Murry, Dr S I Tushi, Lt. Dr H V Sakhrie, Dr N P Saha, Dr K T Margaret ( Sis Flora), Dr R Zinyu, Dr T Sahu, Dr S M Agarwalla, Lt Dr Jitender Kumar and Dr Maongwati Aier were felicitated. Earlier the significance of Doctors’ Day was delivered by Dr B L Agarwal while the vote of thanks was delivered by Dr Tali Longkumer. It may be noted that IMA founded in 1928, is the largest professional organization in the country with a total strength of about 2 lakhs and a founding member of World Medical Association. First of July is celebrated as the Doctors’ Day in which is the birthday of Dr B C Roy, an eminent physician, freedom fighter and politician of Bengal. The Dimapur branch of IMA has been constituted with Dr A B Choudary as the Honorary president and Dr D R Sharma as the Honorary secretary.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2