Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Chronology of major Naxal attacks in the country
NEW DELHI, JUL 12 (Agencies):
Published on 12 Jul. 2009 11:29 PM IST
Print  Text Size

Following is the chronology of major Naxal attacks in the country in the last five years: June 23, 2009: A group of motorcycle-borne armed Naxal rebels opened fire on Lakhisarai district court premises in Bihar and freed four of their comrades including the self-style Zonal Commander of Ranchi. June 16: Maoists rebels kill 11 police officers in a landmine attack followed by armed assault. In a separate attack, four policemen were killed and two others seriously injured when Maoists ambushed them at Beherakhand in Palamau district. June 13: Naxals launched two landmine and bomb attacks in small town close to Bokaro, killing 10 policemen and injuring several others. June 10: Nine policemen including CRPF troops and officers were ambushed by Maoists during a routine patrol Saranda jungles in Jharkhand. May 22: Maoists killed 16 policemen in the jungles of Gadchiroli district in Maharashtra who went to investigate a roadblock. April 22: Maoists hijacked a train with at least 300 people on board in Jharkhand and forced it to Latehar district before fleeing. April 13: 10 paramilitary troops were killed in eastern Orissa when Maoists attacked a bauxite mine in Koraput district. July 16, 2008: 21 Policemen were killed when a landmine blast hit a police van in Malkangiri district of Orissa. June 29: Maoists attacked a boat on the Balimela reservoir in Orissa carrying four anti-Naxalite police officials and 60 Greyhound commandos, killing 38 troops. Feb 16: A group of 50 rebels including women cadre raided a police training school, a police station and an armoury in Orissa killing 12 police and leaving 4 wounded. Sept 7, 2007: Former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Janardhan Reddy and his wife N Rajyalakshmi, escaped unhurt while three Congress workers were killed in a Maoist attack in Nellore district in Andhra Pradesh. July 10: Naxalites attacked a police team with light machine guns and mortar bombs in a dense forest area of Chhattisgarh, killing at least 24 security personnel. July 1: Nine persons, including five policemen, were killed and as many were wounded as CPI-Maoist rebels carried out simultaneous attacks on a police station and an outpost in Sasaram in Bihar’s Rohtas district and fled with arms and ammunition. Apr 28: Five security personnel were killed in a landmine blast triggered by Maoist rebels in Michgaon village of Kanker district, about 175 km south of Raipur in Chhattisgarh. Mar 16: Maoists attacked a police post in remote jungles of Rani Bodli in Chattisgarh with guns, hand grenades and gasoline bombs, killing at least 49 people. Mar 5: Naxalites shot dead Jharkhand Mukti Morcha’s Lok Sabha MP Sunil Kumar Mahato. Two of his bodyguards and a party colleague were also killed in the attack when they were witnessing a football match organised to mark Holi at a village in Jamshedpur in Jharkhand. July 17: At least 25 people were killed and 80 injured, 32 of them seriously, while about 250 people were missing following an attack by some 800 armed Naxalites in Dantewada district of Chattisgarh. Feb 9, 2006: Eight Central Industrial Security Force personnel were killed and eight others injured when Naxalites raided a godown of the National Mineral Development Corporation (NMDC) and took away explosives from a village near Bailadila in Jagdalpur in Chattisgarh. Nov 13, 2005: Hundreds of activists of the banned Communist Party of India (Maoist) attacked the police lines in south Bihar’s Jehanabad district. Mar 1: Naxalites shot dead eight villagers and blew up a forest rest house, injuring a CRPF constable in Andhra Pradesh.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News