Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Filing of nomination papers end in M’laya
Correspondent SHILLONG, JUL 29:
Published on 30 Jul. 2009 1:37 AM IST
Print  Text Size

The filing of nomination papers for the Laitumkhrah Assembly by-elections in Meghalaya scheduled on August 18 came to an end on Wednesday. The seat fell vacant after United Democratic Party (UDP) legislator M Ampareen Lyngdoh quit the Assembly on March 31 and joined the Congress at a time when the state was facing a political crisis. Lyngdoh, a non-elected member is a Cabinet minister in the Meghalaya United Alliance (MUA) coalition government. The Congress has pitted Lyngdoh against her main rival Malcolm Tariang of the UDP. In the last Assembly elections, Tariang conceded defeat by a narrow margin of 1872 votes to Lyngdoh. The BJP which suffered a major blow in the state with the merger of sitting MLA Alexander Hek with the Congress fielded Stephen Nongbet. The Hills State People’s Democratic Party, another important ally of the MUA too fielded Romeo Phira Ranee. Two of Lyngdoh’s confidant - Andrew Aibok Jyrwa and George Gary Nongkhlaw - filed their nominations as Independent candidates. The scrutiny of the nomination papers will be held tomorrow, while the counting of votes will take place on August 21.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News