Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Rio presents Mayangnokcha award to achievers
Published on 1 Aug. 2009 11:45 PM IST
Print  Text Size

State chief minister, Neiphiu Rio gave away the 16th Mayangnokcha Award during the Tsungremmong and State Road Show Mokokchung at Imkongmeren Sports Complex, Mokokchung on Saturday. According to an official bulletin, the awardees of the MAT 2009 included MAT - NE Sun Award for the subject topper in English – Nitokali V. Chishi, MAT-Rockdale Club Award for the subject topper in Ao (MIL) – Penlichang, MAT-YRSD Award for the subject topper in social sciences – Neikhrietsonuo, MAT-Tir Yimyim Award for the subject topper in science – Vepilu Chuzho, MAT-EFoM Award for the subject topper in mathematics – Imtitemsu Jamir, Kimalongzo Longchar, Kikanaro Imchen, Akangtula Jamir, Mayangnokcha Award for Academic Excellence –Overall topper was awarded to Vepilu Chuzho. Earlier in the presentation ceremony, the chief minister was presented the Vision Document on Quality Education, and a special song presented by Clark Theological College Choir. The Mayangnokcha Award Trust was set up in 1993 with its headquarter at Mokokchung in honour of Mayangnokcha from Changki Village who led the Naga Society into the dawn of a new era of learning, knowledge and wisdom. The aim of the Trust is to perpetuate the memory and works of late Mayangnokcha, and thereby to inculcate the sense of vision and destiny amongst our people in all spheres of profession; to give incentive to meritorious Naga students and to create a spirit of competitiveness amongst students in the field of education. During the function the District Excellence Awards in various fields was also given away by the chief minister. The District Excellence Award in the field of Literature was awarded to Rev. C.Walu Walling, Impur, District Excellence Award for social services to ex president AKM, Aodangla, District Excellence Award for entrepreneurship to Wabang Mollier from Mollier Cable TV Network and District Excellence Award in the field of art & crafts to Imsuyanger from Changtonya town. The awards carried a citation and a cash award of Rs. 5000/-. Best farmer award (2005-2009) under Mokokchung was also announced which included a citation and a cash award of Rs. 5000/-. The Best group farmer award carried a cash prize of Rs. 10,000/- besides the citation.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News