Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Orientation course held for ATMA, AMC & BTT conveners
Published on 6 Aug. 2009 1:08 AM IST
Print  Text Size

State Nodal Department ATMA in collaboration with Extension Education Institute (EEI), Jorhat organized an orientation course on ATMA on August 4 and 5 at Sameti Hall, IETC, Medziphema. ADC, Medzhiphema, S. Doungel in his address stated that government of India launched the CSS-Support to state extension programmes for extension reforms, also known as extension reforms (ATMA) during 2005 to revamp the earlier system, shifting the focus from commodity oriented approach to more holistic farming system approach. He said the state nodal department ATMA and its allied department were involved with its objectives and importance of its activities. Additional Director, Agriculture, A.Y. Ovung in his key note address stated that ATMA programme was to revamp the earlier system, thus based on bottom up approach empowering farmers to planning and implementation of extension services to fully meet the specific needs of different farmers and different classes of farmers. He stated that seven key reforms have been promoted under the scheme namely, an autonomous restructured district and block bodies (ATMA/BTT/FAC/FIAC/FIG), convergence of Agri and allied departments and operating on gap filling mode by formulating strategic research and extension plan and annual plans, multi agencies to extension-PPP mode, integrated broad based extension delivery, group approach in operation, addressing gender concerns and sustainability of extension services (beneficiary contribution). He also said that the major activities of ATMA includes demonstration, training and exposure visits, PPP on innovative programmes, development technologies and dissemination via media, exhibition/melas, capacity building of manpower at all levels etc. According to an official bulletin, resource persons at the orientation included Professor, EEI, Jorhat, Dr. P.K. Neog, Asst. Professor EEI, Jorhat, Sajib Boruah, Principal IETC, Lanupokyim and LTO programme incharge Dr. Amenla, Directorate of Agriculture, Kohima. Altogether 27 officials from Phek, Zunheboto and Kiphire took part in the programme.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2