Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Historic 1980 Subroto cup winners
Correspondent Kohima, July 18 (NPN):
Published on 19 Jul. 2009 12:02 AM IST
Print  Text Size

A nostalgic reunion meeting of 1980 Subroto cup football state wining team under-17 after a gap of 29 years attended the reunion on Saturday held here at Khouchieze Hotel, Kohima. Zevikuo Liezietsu, secretary reunion meet 1980 Subroto team said that the winning team deserved to be recognized by the state government, though they were given Rs.1000 each and a track suit & paint on January 26, 1981, who even brought his track suit and paint at the meeting, which also stunned the gathering. Zevikuo Liezietsu of Kohima village informed that his village in recognition of the outstanding sports personality, the Kohima village during its annual sports meet hosted by D. Khel in 2008 presented him and others with a “recognition certificate” and felt the state government also award “Meritorious recognition certificate”. Toshimongba Jamir recalled “we could not effort to get good facilities, yet we created history in 1980 to win the cup”. “We are meeting after 28 or 29 years” a vividly Runcho recounts and said that “we were the first team from Nagaland to create history to get our name written of the trophy”. Sports analyst feels that the state government should recognized their achievements and opined that the government grants them financial assistance as most of the players are already 50 years. Earlier the reunion also observed a minute silence in memory of their departed comrade Nokpang Konyak. Meanwhile the reunion also congratulated Greenwood Higher Secondary School, Dimapur football team for winning the under-14 Subroto cup in 2008. The re-union team also decided to submit a memorandum to the state chief minister Neiphiu Rio, who is also President, Nagaland Olympic Association, to highlighting some major points to give the winning team member a Nagaland Olympic Logo Blazer, recognized that the 1980 champion was the first state record in the field of football and also urged the state government to incorporate a policy to award financial assistance to the retire sports personnel. The Junior Subroto Mukherjee cup under 17, started in 1960 is the only junior nation school level tournament. Nagaland for the first time took part in 1967 and had the distinction of winning in 1980 and were runner up on six occasions (1967, 1968, 1981, 1984, 1985 and 2004)

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2