Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Independence Day celebrated across Nagaland
Published on 16 Aug. 2009 12:50 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Hundreds of people both young and old gathered at Niuland public ground on Saturday to witness the Independence Day special programme. Chairman of Dimapur district planning development board and advisor of Sericulture and Co-operative, MLA Azheto Zhimomi who attended the programme as chief guest inspected the contingents and took salute from the parade contingents of 13th IRB, GHSS, Modern High School, Christian High School and St. Joseph School. Reading out the Independence Day message to the gathering, Azheto said state government had renewed its commitment to bridge the gap between the rich and the poor, men and women, urban and rural through empowering, training and capacity building. Chaired by EAC, Niuland Vikoweno, the programme was attended by all government employees in Niuland including ADC Niuland Anenla Sato, NGOs, GBs, DMC councilors, teachers, students, police personnel and public leaders. (Staff Reporter) MON TOWN: Mon town celebrated Independence Day with Nagaland Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie as chief guest at local football ground Mon. Delivering the Independence Day message, Kiyanilie appealed to all underground groups to stop senseless killing and to rise above differences and affiliations and work towards the common goal for permanent peace. Earlier, the chief guest unfurled the National flag and took salute of 15 contingents comprised of 6th NAP; DEF; VG; Ex-servicemen; NCC; besides various Schools of Mon town and 6th NAP Pipe Band. TUENSANG: Independence Day celebration was held at parade Ground Tuensang with minister for Roads and Bridges, G. Kaito Aye as the chief guest. Chief guest unfurled the national flag, inspected the parade and took salute from 15 contingents comprising of DEF, 3rd NAP, CRPF, VG, Ex Servicemen, NCC from Sao Chang College & GHSS, Bharat Scouts and Guides from GHS 3rd NAP & Thangjem and Baptist school Thangyen, Christ King School, Loyem College and 3rd NAP band, Veteran Band and Changsang band of Hakchang village, MOKOCHUNG: Alongwith the rest of the country, the 62nd anniversary of India’s Independence Day was celebrated at Mokokchung town with great enthusiasm and traditional gaiety. Addressing the main function at Imkonmgmeren Sports Complex after unfurling the National tri-colour, chief guest Dr. K.C. Nihoshe, Parliamentary Secretary, Industries & Commerce categorically stated togetherness and inclusive growth of the entire state will be the objective of the state government. Earlier the chief guest took salute of the impressive Independence Day March Past from 13 contingents. ZUNHEBOTO: Indian Independence Day was celebrated at Zunheboto in a grand manner. In spite of incessant rain the public gathered and awaited the arrival of chief guest at local ground Zunheboto from 8 a.m. onwards. Minister for PHED, Dr. Ngangshi K. Ao who was the chief guest on the day greeted the people of the district. He hoisted ceremonial flag and inspected the parade contingents. PEREN: Independence Day was celebrated at Peren with Parliamentary Secretary, RD & REPA, Pangnyu Phom as the Chief Guest, who unfurled the National Flag and took salute from the 12 contingents comprising of DES Peren, 9th IR Saijang, NCC, Scouts & Guides, Peren district and Schools and College students of Peren town. He also delivered the Independence Day speech. PHEK: Phek celebrated Independence Day in a grand manner with Advisor for Science & Technology, New Renewable Energy, Art & Culture, Deo Nukhu as Chief Guest. In his Speech, he said that the newly created department of New & Renewable Energy was created to focus on tapping energy and power from new and sustainable sources like solar and wind energy with special emphasis on the environmental protection and greener measures to meet the increasing energy needs. WOKHA: Wokha celebrated Independence Day with Minister for Forest, Environment, Ecology & Wild Life and Excise, M.C. Konyak as chief guest who unfurled the national flag at local football ground. The chief guest delivered the Independence Day to the gathering. A total number of 14 contingents led by Parade Commander C. Akum, E Coy, 7 NAP Bn. Wokha and Parade 2 I/C, Thunglamo Lotha, RHQ Wokha took part in the march past. TSEMINYU: Independence Day was celebrated at Tseminyu with Parliamentary Secretary for Horticulture, R. Khing as the chief guest. The chief guest unfurled the National Flag and took salute from 4th Nap, 24th NCC of GHSS, NCC Girls of Kasha, 24th NCC of Baptist School, Christian School Tseminyu and Don Bosco School. SHAMATORE: Independence Day was celebrated at Shamatore with Chief Guest Parliamentary Secretary for Fisheries, Relief & Rehabilitation and Printing & Stationery, S. Heno. The programme was held at the local ground where Company Commander, 3rd NAP Shamatore reviewed the march pass contingents. The chief guest unfurled the National Flag and read out the Independence Day speech. CHIEPHOBOZOU: Chiephobozou sub-division celebrated the 62nd anniversary of India Independence Day with Minister for Soil & Water Conservation and Land Resources Development, P. Longon as chief guest. The chief guest unfurled the National Flag and inspected the parade and took salute from the eight contingents comprising of 4th NAP, ex-servicemen, NCC Chiechama, DBS boys and girls, GHS Chiechama, and GMS Merema (boys & girls). CHANGTONGYA: Along with the rest of the nation the 62nd anniversary of Indian Independence Day was celebrated at Changtongya headquarter at SDO (C) office compound. Chubawati Chang, SDO (C) unfurled the National Flag and delivered the Independence Day speech. He also took salute from DEF personnel. NAGINIMORA: Indian Independence Day was celebrated at Naginimora Sub-Division with Parliamentary Secretary for IPR, Economics & Statistics, R. Tohanba as the chief guest. The chief guest unfurled the National Flag and delivered the Independence Day speech. He took salute from the march past contingents consisting of 6 NAP, GHS, United Christian Higher Secondary School, Ayo Memorial School. CHOZUBA ADC HQ: Along with the rest of the Country, Chozuba ADC HQ celebrated Independence Day with Parliamentary Secretary for Geology and Mining, Irrigation & Flood Control and Border Affairs Y.Patton as Chief Guest. Parade display by eight contingents, tug of war, cultural dance by Chozuba Town Youth Association and Choreography by Greenwood School were the main highlights of the celebration. NSCB: Nagaland State Cooperative Bank celebrated the Independence Day at HO complex of the NSCB. The programme was attended by officers and staff of the bank along with Managing Director, NSCB, B K Thandani hoisting the national flag. General Manager, NABARD regional office, K C Panda also attended the programme. NNP+ and Kerela Club of Kohima: NNP+ and Kerela Club of Kohima commemorating the 62nd Independence Day visited NNP+ office, where a short programme was held focusing mainly on open interaction. A.B Menon, advisor of Kerela Club Kohima (KCK) appraised NNP+ for their humanitarian work. LIONS CLUB OF DIMAPUR: Lions Club of Dimapur celebrated Independence Day at Lions Centre. The Flag was hoisted by Lion Manoj Chabbra, Chairman of the project which was followed by national anthem and flag salutation. The members visited Dimapur Civil Hospital and distributed fruits, biscuits, cake, mineral water, sweets etc to all patients and staff of the hospital and also distributed food packets at Dimapur Railway station. Further, Bhandari ADC Hq, Medziphema ADC Hq, Meluri, Tobu, Pughoboto, Wozhuro EAC Hq, Mangkolemba, Sanis, Pftsero and Ralan also joined the 63rd Independence celebration.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News