Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Cong unopposed in 3 seats in Arunachal
Published on 26 Sep. 2009 11:50 PM IST
Print  Text Size

The Congress is all set to capture three Assembly seats in Arunachal Pradesh without any contest. Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu (Mukto), sitting MLA Tsewang Dhondup (Tawang) and debutant Jambey Tashi (Lumla) will be elected unopposed, provided they did not mess up their nomination papers for the October 13 elections. According to a UNI report, Khandu has set an enviable record in the history of electoral politics in the state with his third unopposed victory. He was earlier sent to the Legislative Assembly elected unopposed in 1999 and 2004. Altogether, 181 candidates are now left in the electoral battle in the state. However, the picture will be clear on September 29 as it is the last date of the withdrawal. The ruling Congress is fielding 63 candidates (including three dummies) while BJP is contesting in 22 seats, followed by NCP (39), Janata Dal United (3) and Peoples Party of Arunachal (PPA) contesting from 12 seats including 14 Independents. Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee, entering in Arunachal politics for the first time, was fielding 28 candidates, including five former ministers and ten sitting MLAs on the Trinamool Congress ticket. When asked about the lesser number of candidates than expected, BJP General Secretary Tai Tagak said the party did not want to put up candidates just for the sake of filling up the numbers. He said at least ten would emerge as winners. Though the party is one of the front runners demanding representation of women in politics, the party did not field a single woman candidate. Expectations in the NCP camp which managed to put up 39 candidates are high. The party expects at least 18 to make it to the Assembly. L Wanglet, former Home Minster and party chief, said that the political scenario would change this time with the coming of major political parties to Arunachal for the first time. The NCP party chief, who is not trying his electoral luck this time, did not rule out any post-poll arrangements with Congress, if it manages to come to power. Though the big picture is yet to emerge, political parties are trying all tactics possible to ensure that power belongs to them. Scrutiny of papers will take place today while the last date for withdrawal is September 29. 181 candidates file nominations for Arunachal polls A total of 181 candidates filed papers today till the close of filing nominations for the 60-member state assembly in Arunachal Pradesh. The polling would be held on October 13. According to election office sources Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu and two other nominees of the ruling Congress are going to be declared elected unopposed as no other nominations were filed against them. Congress have fielded candidates for all the 60 seats, while opposition BJP fielded candidates for 22 seats against 39 seats they had contested in 2004 elections. NCP fielded candidates in 38 seats while Trinamool Congress has fielded 30 candidates, including 10 sitting MLAs. Trinamool entered into the election fray in the border tribal state first time this year. There are 3 JD (U) and 12 Peoples Party of Arunachal nominations and the rest are Independents.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2