Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Manipur govt confirms NSA detention order of four Apunba Lup leaders
Correspondent IMPHAL, SEPT 21:
Published on 21 Sep. 2009 11:14 PM IST
Print  Text Size

The NSA detention orders of four leaders of Apunba Lup spearheading people agitations against July 23 shooting incident who were arrested by Manipur Police on August 4 have been confirmed by the NSA advisory board, official source said Monday. The confirmation of the order for detention of the four leaders came amidst strong demand of the people to release them immediately and fulfill their demands among other resignation of chief minister O Ibobi Singh on moral ground taking responsibility of the July 23 shooting incident at Khwairamband Bazar allegedly by the police commandos killing two persons –a young pregnant housewife and a former militant and injured to five other. People of Manipur have been agitating under the aegis of the Apunba Lup, an apex body of the civil organizations, including women local bodies and local clubs since August 2 last demanding exemplary punishment to the police commandos involved in the shooting incident, appropriate action to the police officers allegedly trying to conceal the truth behind the incident apart from resignation of the chief minister, O Ibobi on moral ground. Four leaders of the Apunba Lup arrested by the police on August 4 in the wake of people agitation were detained under NSA by orders of the Imphal west district magistrate on August 10 last and sent to jail. Police charged them of breaching peace and tranquility posing danger to human lives and properties. When police took them from court, they shouted slogans “Stop fake encounter, stop killing people, long live Manipur”. NSA Advisory Board under the chairmanship of Justice Raj Khowa examining the ground of detention orders confirmed the detention orders of the four leaders along with 18 other people who were detained under NSA by the district magistrates during the hearing from September 17 to 19 last. The four leaders of the Apunba Lup detained under NSA were former coordinators of the body and president of the National Identity Protection Committee (NIPCO) Karam Sunil, AMUCO’s Organisation Secretary, Phurailatpam Deban, member of WCAL and Publicity Secretary of AMUCO, Dayananda Chingtham and Assistant Secretary of Apunba Lup and member of AMUCO, Thounaojam Surjit. Regarding confirmation of the 18 persons including the four leaders of Apunba Lup have also been issued the state home department, the sources added. Meanwhile, Apunba Lup today in a statement reaffirmed its decision to continue agitations with intensified forms of agitation. They also announced to organize torch rally in the coming days. The situation in Manipur has been under chaotic situation since people started uprising against the shooting incident of July 23. Students have stopped attending class since September 8 after the All Manipur Students’ Union (AMSU) and Manipuri Students’ Federation announced indefinite class boycott in support of the demands of the Apunba Lup.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2