Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Nagaland’s city to be solar
Published on 19 Dec. 2009 12:36 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Nagaland has been approved, among the 34 cities, to be developed as Solar City. Union minister for New and Renewable Energy, Dr. Farooq Abdullah Friday informed the Lok Sabha. A total of 60 Cities are proposed to be developed as Solar Cities. The central government, given in-principle approved 34 cities in the country to be developed as Solar Cities. These include cities from Nagaland, Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Chandigarh, Chattisgarh, Gujarat, Goa, Haryana, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamilnadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Kerala, Dr. Abdullah said. However, the minister did not divulge in particular as to which city in Nagaland and other states were going to be developed as a Solar City. Proposals were invited from all states and union territories for development of Solar Cities and approval was given based on the proposals received as per guidelines, the minister said. Proposals from remaining States are yet to be received. Dr. Abdullah also informed that criteria set by the ministry for the identification of cities include a city population between 0.5 to 5 million (with relaxation given to special category States including North-East States), initiatives and regulatory measures already taken alongwith a high level of commitment in promoting energy efficiency and renewable energy.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News