Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Cong retains seat in M’pur by-election
Correspondent IMPHAL, DEC 23:
Published on 23 Dec. 2009 11:03 PM IST
Print  Text Size

Congress retained seat in the by-election in Manipur held to fill a vacant seat of the Manipur Legislative Assembly necessitated after the death of sitting Congress MLA, E Kunjeshwor in September this year. Congress candidate, E Suraj who is also the son of the late MLA defeated his nearest rival independent candidate Hanjabam Jayadeva by a margin of 943 votes in the counting held this morning at the office complex of the DC, Imphal east district. The by-election to the 14-Yaiskul Assembly was held on December 19 last. Four candidates were in the fray for the by-elections- Suraj of Congress secured 9799 votes, independent candidate, Jayadeva got 8856 votes. Soubam Rajendrakumar of Janata Dal (Security) secured 834 votes and Aribam Jagadish another independent candidate got only 127. Chief Minister, O Ibobi lauded the Congress men in winning the by-election. Speaking at the felicitation function, Ibobi said he was not satisfied with the votes Congress secured and said the party expected wining the election by a huge margin of votes.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News