Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Gogoi inaugurates three new express trains
Published on 31 Dec. 2009 12:22 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Chief Minister of Assam, Tarun Gogoi inaugurated the 5761/5762 Kamakhya–Ranchi Express at a colourful function at Kamakhya Railway Station on Tuesday. He also announced the introduction of train no. 5927/5928 Dibrugarh– Kamakhya Express and train no. 5901/5902 Dibrugarh –Yesvantpur Express as the chief guest of the same function attended by Members of Parliament Bijoya Chakavarty and Birendra Prasad Baishya, senior railway officials including Shiv Kumar, general manager, N.F.Railway and hundreds of people. According to chief public relations officer, S. Hajong, the Kamakhya– Ranchi Express will be a bi-weekly service and will leave Kamakhya at 12.30 hrs every Tuesday and Saturday to reach Ranchi at 14.10 hrs on Wednesday and Sunday. This will be a direct train service to Ranchi from Guwahati. Similarly, Dibrugarh– Kamakhya Express will be tri-weekly service and will leave Dibrugarh at 06.00 hrs every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday to reach Kamakhya at 17.35 hrs the same day. The Dibrugarh–Yesvantpur Express, which will be a weekly service, will leave Dibrugarh at 18.30 hrs every Friday to reach Yesvantpur (Bangalore) at 23.55hrs Monday. This train will be one of the major long-distance trains in India covering more than 3650 kilometre over seven states. People of upper assam will immensely benefit from this direct train to Yesvantpur (Bangalore). While delivering the inaugural speech at the function, general manager of N. F. Railway, Shiv Kumar elaborated on the developmental projects being undertaken by the N. F. Railway and reiterated N. F. Railway’s commitment for development of rail infrastructure in north-eastern region. He also stated that during first nine months of the current financial year, N. F. Railway had completed five major projects viz: (i) reopening of Sensowa – Silghat section (ii) Construction of new line from Chaowlkhowa–Moranhat (iii) re-opening of Haiborgaon–Mairabari section (iv) opening of new coaching maintenance facility at Dibrugarh and (v) opening of new coaching maintenance facility at Kamakhya including construction of two new modern station buildings. One of them is Kamakhya, the other being Dibrugarh station. The inauguration also marked the beginning of utilization of the Kamakhya Station as the second terminus station serving the Guwahati City. This is significant in view of the present traffic congestion at Guwahati station.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2