Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Students hold sessions in Poilwa, Lakhuti, Tesophenyu
Published on 20 Jan. 2010 12:06 AM IST
Print  Text Size

PSUN: The 39th general conference of Poilwa Students’ Union Nagaland (PSUN) was held from January 8 to 12 at Poilwa village on the theme “Education, elixir of civilization” with former speaker and minister and secretary general NCP north east India Neiba Ndang as chief guest. Speaking on the occasion, Ndang encouraged the students to have strong determination and emphasized on the importance of preserving flora and fauna. The chief guest also donated Rs. 50,000 towards the union. The union also organized a football tournament in memory of Late Machidalong, an active member of the union. The function was graced by additional director IPR Pausui Zeliang as chief guest, who also donated Rs. 20, 000 towards the union. The valedictory function was graced by Poilwa Namei chairman Hairongbe as guest of honor who donated Rs. 5000 towards the union. Some of the highlights of the programme included folk song competition and various items from every khel. The union also elected its new team of office bearers with Suingau Chuilo as president and Namdwasap S. Mbung as general secretary. LSU: The 61st annual session of the Lakhuti Students’ Union was conducted on December 30 2009 under the theme ‘go with vision and perseverance”. N. Thomas Ngullie, former minister, was the chief guest for the inaugural function while N. Jacob Yanthan, SDO, Agriculture department was the guest of honour -cum- speaker. In the valedictory function, Michael Yanthan, personal secretary to Dy Speaker NLA, was the guest of honour. The union has thanked all guests, speakers and elders for their presence and contributions. It also expressed gratitude to all individuals for their support to the union financially, materially and physically. TGSU: Tesophenyu Group Students’ Union (TGSU) held its 47th annual session on December 29 at government high school Tesophenyu with Dr. Shasinlo Magh as speaker. The speaker exhorted the students to work hard and cooperate for the welfare of the union. The union also elected its new team of office bearers for the tenure 2010 to 2012 with Thonsenlo Magh as president and R. Obed Magh as general secretary.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2