Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
National Whips’ conference held
Published on 16 Feb. 2010 1:26 AM IST
Print  Text Size

The 15th All India Whips’ Conference was held from February 10 to 11 at Chandigarh which was inaugurated by Governor of Punjab and Administrator of Union Territory of Chandigarh, Shivraj V. Patil. The conference was addressed by Minister of State for ministry of Science & Technology, Earth Sciences, Minister of State to PM office, Personnel, Public Grievances, Pensions & Parliamentary Affairs, Prithiviraj Chavan; Union Minister of Parliamentary Affairs & Water Resources, Pawan Kumar Bansal; and Punjab chief minister, Sardar Prakash Singh Badal. Nagaland Congress Legislature Party (CLP) chief whip & MLA Kheto Kimy accompanied by Department of Parliamentary Affairs Nagaland secretary, N. Benjamin Newmai attended the conference. Kimy participated in discussion of agendas and joined the consensus on the need to strengthen the roots of democracy through the youth. He suggested for adequate central financial assistance to states for conduct of Youth Parliament at state level which would culminate in national level Youth Parliament. Kheto Kimy also spoke on the need for Whips to play their roles effectively for maintenance of decorum in the House and further joined suggestion for the need to implement the recommendation of 14th AIW conference for provision of uniform status and facilities to the Chief Whips of ruling and opposition parties both in Parliament and State Legislatures. The Conference adopted 10 recommendations including conversion of All India Whips’ Conference to an institution, to conduct the conference annually, to formulate code of conduct against disruptions in the House, to impart training to parliamentarians and study of various institutions, provisions of secretarial assistance to Chief Whips and strengthening of Youth Parliaments. The conference concluded with Punjab minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Tiksan Sud addressing the valedictory function at Mountview Hotel, Chandigarh while Rajya Sabha deputy chairman, K. Rahman Khan delivered the valedictory address. Chief Whips and Whips of various political parties from all over India totaling around 56 delegates attended the conference.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2