Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Kharlukhi re-elected M’laya NCP president
Correspondent SHILLONG, FEB 16
Published on 16 Feb. 2010 11:58 PM IST
Print  Text Size

Dr Wanwei Roy Kharlukhi today was unanimously re-elected as president of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) in Meghalaya. He was first elected to the post of NCP Meghalaya unit president in 2007. Altogether, 92 members of the electoral college of the NCP comprising of 13 legislators (excluding Deputy Speaker Sanbor Shullai and Adolf Lu Hitler who has been suspended for anti-arty activities), 24 MDCs from Khasi, Jaintia and Garo Hills Autonomous District Council, district presidents, Youth and Women wings presidents and selected five members from each of these wings exercised their franchise. The NCP, the main opposition has 15 legislators in the 60-member House Assembly. Talking to reporters after the election, Dr Kharlukhi promised to strengthen the party from the grass root level. He said that he would try and see that more legislators are elected from the eastern region of the state. “After I took over as the party president, two legislators from Khasi and Jaintia Hills have been elected to the Assembly including six MDCs,” Kharlukhi said.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2