Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
7 tribes to refrain from Naga Council
Dimapur, Feb 21(NPN):
Published on 22 Feb. 2010 1:37 AM IST
Print  Text Size

All seven tribes from the districts of Mon, Tuensang and Longleng including Mokokchung in Dimapur, have reiterated that the election process of the recent election of the Naga Council office bearers, was not in accordance with the Naga Council Constitution and therefore, have decided to abstain from participating in any activity of the Naga Council till the matter is clarified. This was resolved at the February 21 meeting of the seven tribal representatives of Dimapur -Chang Union Dimapur, Sangtam Union Dimapur, Khiamniungan Union Dimapur, Phom Union Dimapur, Konyak Union Dimapur, Yimchunger Union Dimapur and the Ao Senso Telongjem Dimapur. The seven tribes in a signed press statement, have clarified that the conduct of the election process by the election committee was not carried out in accordance with the spirit of the Naga Council as in the past. They said the Naga Council notification to the election committee issued on February 4 2010 had clearly explained that the committee was assigned with the responsibility of conducting necessary election process and with the objective of ensuring smooth transition of the new team in keeping with the time-tested tradition of the council. The signatories said the views of the election commission with regard to its inclination for the selection method should have been noted for consideration and future implementation. Later on April 21,2006 the special executive meeting of the Naga Council resolved that : (a) no person who is a designated office bearer of any political party can be an office bearer of the Naga Council Dimapur; (b) no person holding the post of president of any tribal hoho/union can contest for office bearer in the Naga Council; (c) Only one representative from a tribal hoho/union shall be eligible to contest for office bearer for Naga Council; (d) Once a person is nominated by a tribal hoho/union to the Naga Council, he/she shall complete full term unless that representative is (i) nominated by designation (ii) violates provisions of the council’s constitution (iii) expires or (iv) is transferred away from Dimapur. They also said the statement of the election commission “therefore, for the brighter future of the Naga Council and to serve the Naga public with sincerity, trust and without bias feeling, the election system is to be stopped”, was a suggestion that was not binding at the current period of time. They have raised the issue of the December 3,2009 meeting convened at the initiative of W.Mero at the Tourist Lodge as an unofficial meet . They said W. Mero had invited well wishers to the meeting where there was no unanimous vote nor resolution to “request any individual for continuation but just a consultative meet where some of the councillors opined that it was up to the new councilors(2010-2014) to decide/implement and also too immature to discuss as such.” Further, the signatories of the seven tribes questioned the clarification issued by the Naga Council Election Committee on February 18 wherein it said that the Council had invited the Dimapur District GB’s Association (DDGBA) and the tribal presidents of the Dimapur Phugi Sumi Hoho and Phom Union Dimapur as election observers. They said the Phom Union had issued a rejoinder to the Naga Council on February 21 even as the Council meeting on February 12 made no mention of information copy served to any invitee as observers. The signatories also said that it was the first time in the history of the Naga Council election that invitation for observers was made to a few selected tribe/organization . The other issues raised by the seven tribes included : a. Is it the change of the election committee nomenclature to that of selection method by the election committee is the election process as assigned and as per the executive resolution no.4 Dated: 04/02/2010. b. The election committee is not empowered to select nor nominate any office bearer but to start the election process, however advising them to apply wisdom on the time tested tradition of the Naga Council. c. Who empower the election committee to change the nomenclature to that of selection method/committee? d. Why the election committee fail to refer the constitution of the council, especially article no. 7 and 8 which clearly state the method of election. e. Is it logical to seek any mandate/vote from the council/house for any un-procedural process/initiatives that the election committee had taken? If it’s a matter of 2/3 majority then why election committee hesitate to face or initiative the election process for which they have been assigned for. Therefore, the 2/3 majority question does not arise in the un-procedural process. f. Why the election committee fails to look into and implement the earlier election commission recommendation dated: 23/01/2005 and passed the same in the form of Naga Council executive meeting resolution no. 3 datedt: 21st April, 2006.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2