Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Election to State RS seat on March 26
Published on 23 Feb. 2010 12:54 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Elections to 14 Rajya Sabha seats including Nagaland will be held on March 26, the Election Commission announced today. The term of Nagaland Rajya Sabha MP, Khekiho Zhimomi expires on April 2, 2010. Election to Rajya Sabha seats including those currently held by Union Ministers A K Antony, Anand Sharma and M S Gill will also be held on March 26. While the term of Antony (from Kerala) and Sharma (HP) would expire on April 2, Gill’s (Punjab) would end on April 9. Biennial elections to 13 seats from six states -- five in Punjab, three in Kerala, two in Assam and one each in Himachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Tripura and by-election to fill a vacancy caused by the death of senior Samajwadi Party leader Janeshwar Mishra (UP) would be held on March 26 from 9 am to 4.00 p.m. Counting of votes would be taken up on the same day at 5.00 p.m. Besides Antony, Sharma and Gill, others who would be retiring are Silvius Condpan and Syeda Anwara Taimur (from Assam), Abdul Wahab Peeve and A Vijayaraghavan (Kerala), Khekiho Zhimomi (Nagaland), Matilal Sarkar (Tripura) and Ashwani Kumar, Naresh Gujral, Dharam Pal and Varinder Singh (Punjab). According to the schedule, the notifications would be issued on March 9. Last date for filing nominations would be on March 16 and the scrutiny the following day. Last date for withdrawal of nominations would be on March 19.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2