Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Rio lauds AR on completion of 175 yrs
Correspondent KOHIMA:
Published on 16 Mar. 2010 12:38 AM IST
Print  Text Size

The 5th Nagaland Poetry competition 2010 in celebration of 175 years of Assam Rifles and 25 years of the poetry Society India, organized by coordinator North East Region (NER) Poetry Society India (PSI) and Assam Rifles took place on Monday at 16th Assam Rifles with state Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio and Nyeiwang Konyak, Minister of School Education and SCERT gracing the events as chief guest and the guest of honour respectively. The theme of competition is “Friends of the Hill People” and a total of 2346 entries were received, out of which 1127 were male entries and 1219 female entries. The ten top winners of the poetry competition recited their poems. Addressing the gathering, Rio lauded the Assam Rifles for completing glorious 175 years of existence and for creating many memorable milestones and also building trust with the north east people. Congratulating the Assam Rifles for the service to the people, he said that the AR not only provided security to the people, but were also involved in carrying out many welfare programme for the people. On the AR slogan “Friends of Hill people”, the chief minister said that the tribal people, especially the Nagas were straight forward and stated “If you are his friend, he will give his life for you and if you are his enemy, he will take your life”. The chief minister also said that the Assam Rifles should live with their slogan Friends of the Hill people in the years to come and wished them a bright future in service of the nation and for the people of Northeast. On the poetry competition, he said that literature and music played an important role in promoting peace in the world and encouraged the budding poets and award winners to use their God given talents to the fullest. He further congratulated all the award winners and released the book “The Voices of North East Poets”. The chief minister also felicitated six poets of the region - awards winners Mamang Dai from Arunachal Pradesh, professor Streamlet Dkhar from Meghalaya, Head of Khasi department NEHU Shillong, professor L. Khiangte from Mizoram, head of Mizo department from Mizoram University, Bijay Bantawa from Sikkim, Editor of Snowline Magazine, Kalyan Gupta from Tripura, director of art and culture, Tripura and Raghu Leishangtiem from Manipur, Seike Academy. In his address Minister of School Education and SCERT Nyeiwang Konyak said that literature played an integral role in the progress and development of any society and it was through this form of art that one can nurture healthy, creative and inspiring discussion and debates for the achievement and growth of man. He also said that the competition had definitely promoted the creativity for poetry writing and in nurturing the bonds of trust among men. Special invitee, IGAR (N) Major General Sandeep Singh thanked the overwhelming response of participants from various place of north east states and also appreciated the enthusiasm shown by the participants. Rishi Raj Sharma from Assam, Nephew of Bhupen Hazarika noted artist attended the ceremony and presented a special number. The function was chaired by Noel Manuel coordinator NER, PSI. The Poetry Society (India) (TPS) was established in July 1984. Dr. H.K. Kaul, Keshav Malik, Dr. J.P.Das, Dr. Lakshmi Kannan, Man Mohan Singh, Sunita Jain, S. Balu Rao, and Priya Devi became the founder members of The Poetry Society (India). The Society was launched to, promote Indian Poetry and look after the interests of poets in India.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2