Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Call for active involvement in sanitation
Correspondent Kohima:
Published on 28 Feb. 2010 1:32 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Minister for Public Health Engineering Department, Dr. Ngangshi K.Ao on Saturday accentuated that sanitation was an important aspect to adopt for a society to progress. Stating that a healthy population was wealth of the people, the minister called upon the public for their active involvement towards a healthy society. Speaking during a prize distribution ceremony on state level essay competition at Zonal Council Hall, Dr. Ngangshi K. Ao said that involvement of all sections of people should be made so that total sanitation is achieved in the state. Pointing out various aspects of personal and public hygiene, he urged the people, especially the youngsters to be careful with their eating habits and maintain their health. The minister also stated that the essay competition was conducted with an aim to create awareness among the people on the importance of good health and sanitation as per the target of the UN and the Total Sanitation Campaign. The minister felicitated the three winners of the essay competition and ten other consolation winners. Writing on the theme “Sanitation is the foundation of health, dignity and development” V. Avikali Chopy from Govt. High School Dimapur was adjudged as the first prize winner, Steve Tsupoi from Eden Higher Secondary School Dimapur as the second prize winner and Victoria Grace Roughton from Delhi Public School Dimapur as the third prize winner. The consolation prize winners included Tusovesü Ringa, Kohima College; Lichanthung Ngully, Govt. Higher Secodnary School Kohima; Horeising Zimik, Eastern Academy Dimapur; Chumlano Ennio, Eden Higher Secondary School Dimapur; Ningshi Chithung, Don Bosco Higher Secondary School Kohima; Rajat Raj Jha, Ministers’ Hill Baptist Higher Secondary School Kohima; Ningsang, Baptist High Kohima; Lambila Ngangom, Christian Higher Secondary School Dimapur; Aseno Terhuja, Khedi Baptist School Kohima; Viphrenuo Kiso, Model Higher Secondary School Kohima. The three winners were awarded with cash prize of Rs.10,000, Rs. 5000 and Rs. 3000 respectively, along with certificates and souvenir, while the consolation winners were given certificates and souvenir. Earlier, the first three winners read out their essays, song was presented by youth of Ministers’ Hill Baptist Church. Er. Kevisekho Kruse, executive director, CCDU chaired the programme.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News